How To Make LOTS OF BUCKS!

Part 1 – Some sadness, some gladness.

Tremendous!  You have now successfully completed the mind boggling task of Acquiring Small Bucks and nurturing them into Big Bucks.  But why stop there?  If you can have Big Bucks, why can’t you have Lots of Bucks?  So, with the knowledge that “it takes bucks to make bucks” firmly implanted in our brains, we now progress forward.

Me? I’m Beautiful – check out my eyelashes – aren’t you jealous?

This is not to say that it is easy to make Bucks.  In fact, not only is it hard work but it often comes with a certain degree of loss and tragedy.  This is Africa.  Wild animals have perfected their survival needs.  One such animal is the Caracal (known as the Rooikat in Afrikaans, which, translated means Red Cat).  An extremely beautiful, fantastic creature, with long tufts of hair protruding from the tips of their ears.  It is similar to a Lynx (which may help you to picture it).

It is also unbelievably agile, catching a lot of prey in flight, by using its’ incredible ability to do the high-jump.  Unfortunately, much as I adore these animals, I have to accept that, with its’ instinct to hunt, it found one of my beautiful babies simply too enticing.  My sweet baby boy Thaba was, to my great dismay, caught by a Caracal.

I was devastated and found myself in a complete, all embracing depression for longer than I care to mention.  However, in truth, nature would have picked Thaba off from the herd, being the smallest, weakest and slowest.  The locals were keen to hunt down the Caracal and shoot it!  I remained amazed whilst they continued to believe in my insanity status.  The Caracal was merely doing what came naturally.  It needed food to survive and how could it possibly have known that Thaba was my delight.  It is part of natures’ circle and the price I had to pay for the experience that I was granted.

Moving on to the “Some Gladness” portion:

Starbuck, being the real man’s man, went immediately to work.  He ensured that the ladies of the group were “honored” with his attention and it was not long before we began to see a change.

Although I’m as old as Starbuck, see how much smaller my girly horns are.

Naledi (meaning “Star” in Setsotho) and Pasela (“Gift” in Setsotho), appeared to be gaining weight.  Now, we all understand that, as a woman ages, all too frequently a little midriff mass moves in.  But Naledi and Pasela are still sprightly young things.

There was only one reasonable explanation, they were pregnant!

Notice the definite tummy?!

And so starts our process of Making Lots of Bucks!

75 Comments

Filed under Adoptions, Sprinbok

75 responses to “How To Make LOTS OF BUCKS!

  1. That is so sad about that cat killing your baby. Can I ask you a question since I have just started to come to your blog?? Just what are these animals with the horns. Are they like deer?? They sure are pretty. I love the pictures.

    • Thanks so much for visiting me. They are Springbok, however, these babies that I hand raised are extremely rare, as they are Black. They are similar to deer but I am being asked all sorts of questions about them, so have decided I should do a post explaining both Springbok and the Caracal. My only issue currently, is making sure I can find pictures that don’t land me in any trouble for using them.

  2. That is a definite tummy! More bucks on the way!

  3. These fine animals are so very inspiring in their natural habitat, right? Let us honor and nourish them always!

  4. I know this is nature… but it is so sad. If I see this animals, I got such a great protective instinct,… crazy, but it’s true…

  5. What a bitter sweet time you have been having. I sympathise with your sentiments and loss. New babies – how exciting!

    • Indeed. Mother Nature has a way of doing the bitter sweet very well. The loss of Thaba was a devastating time but the new babies on the way, who will have their mothers with them and not be orphans – how exciting is that!

  6. You take glorious photographs!

  7. So sorry about sweet Thaba… Looking forward to more baby pictures!

  8. I definitely think you are well on the way to making lots of bucks! And how wonderful to make lots of them, why stop with a few🙂 I can imagine the heartache losing Thaba must have caused you.It must have been heartbreaking. Nature’s gifts have a very high price tag at times.

  9. Ah, I’m so sorry you had to lose your little one… Nature can be one cruel customer. But as you say: Another had to survive! But the remaining babies (no longer babies) — just magnificent….

  10. I am so sad to hear about your Thaba, as you said though nature knows what she is doing but it does not make it any less sad😦

    What a great adventure lie ahead with new babies on the way. I know we are seeing all this in well I guess you could say “time warp” but how long does it take for them to go from infancy to adulthood?

  11. I’m so sorry to hear about Thaba…it’s hard to lose one of your fur-babies and especially this way. But, the excitement about having ‘new bucks’ in the future is a fun new adventure.

  12. oh no! poor Thaba. really awful when this happens, you are just never prepared for the grief😦

  13. Big bucks, small bucks, some as big as your, er…head? Sorry to read about Thaba and thank you for being adult about it – you could easily have gone crazy and had the Caracal seen to. You must be super exicted about the new bucks?

    • Big bucks, small bucks and now moving onto lots of bucks – all very exciting. Regarding the Caracal, why should we get to decide that only the non-threatening species should live. The farmers, of course, worry terribly about their sheep, so I had to be rather “adult” about understanding their concerns as well but the Caracal deserves its’ life as much as any other.

      • You are being so adult it – I can see most farmers gathering their farming implements to hunt down the monsters. Like a BUNCH of peasants storming the castle of something-or-other really. Hehe.

  14. Red in tooth and claw. Do hope we get to see the babies when they’re REALLY small bucks!

  15. Your title made me smile. 🙂 I imagine a lot of surprised people finding your blog expecting to be given the perfect answer to being rich!

  16. Very sad about Thaba but that is nature and no more so than where you are. Looking forward to baby bucks. Have a wonderful Wednesday.
    Best wishes Molly

  17. I’ll be honset a little bit concerned as I assumed they were all brother and sisters???

    • I’ll admit that I was as well. Very difficult to know. The farm that they had originally come from were not the type of people who particularly cared. They were hunters and had allowed hunters to kill indiscriminately, which meant that mothers were taken. They then found these four with no moms. Who knows – maybe same Moms, maybe different. Wasn’t going to stop a man like Starbuck though.

  18. It’s sad that one was taken. They’re lovely photos.

  19. As you say it’s nature’s way, but oh so very sad. Love your blog

  20. Solveig

    Those animals are beautiful! Sad to hear about Thaba, but as you wrote, it’s the natural way. The cat needed food, maybe it had babies on its own.🙂

    • They are incredible animals, aren’t they?! I still miss Thaba to this day but it is the way of nature. It’s one of the hardest parts of animal rescue of any nature but there is always good to come. You’re right, maybe more little babies survived due to his sacrifice – that’s a nice way of thinking about it.

  21. It sucks what happened to Thaba, but that’s what wild life is about.
    Can’t wait to see the pics of the babies.

  22. Oh that’s so sad…I would of been just like you, devistated😦 but like you say, it’s nature, sad as it is. xxxx

    • Thanks Mollie, appreciate your thoughts. I was devastated and miss him still today. However, at least I can now move on to the good bits again, with new life. I must admit that I do try to skip quickly over the depressing sections of dealing with rescue animals in this blog.

  23. Hey it’s Jet here. Hi Miss Susan.

    Sending lots of Jetty kisses and JJ hugs as condolences for your loss. You are a special person for understanding the Circle of Life.

    Yippee for the Bucks’ baby bumps!🙂

  24. They are so beautiful.

  25. Those cats are terribly cute but I too would be devastated to lose one of my babies.😦

    • Truly devastating – the pain was almost unbearable. I tend to try to skip quickly over the depression parts of animal rescue in this blog and keep to the “easier to read” portions that will, hopefully, encourage people to adopt/rescue/help. Everyone has enough real life pain of their own to contend with.

      At least I can now move the story onto the new life that Mother Nature always brings along with her.

  26. Sad, I would not be able to handle it. I hope you are blessed with healthy young ones.

  27. I have been reading how you started with bucks and have matured to hopefully the next generation. As you say Nature is hard but you have done a beautiful job of understanding their needs and giving them space to be themselves. I’m sorry I have not commented on each, but want you to know how beautiful your writing is and how much I am enjoying learning about these beautiful animals. Thank you🙂

    • Thank you so much. That really means an incredible amount. Glad you have been enjoying following the process. What I find hardest, is trying to keep the blogs short enough for people to actually have time to read them. There is so much to say. I end up writing like mad and then deleting half so that people don’t fall asleep half way through.

  28. How funny! I love your play on words. I wish all financial articles were about deer. Sorry about your little one. But creatures must eat. Oh dear! I would’ve been very sad too, I wish nature had been designed differently.

    • Exactly, I also wish all financial articles and anything related could be as cute as Springbok. The circle of life certainly is difficult to deal with. I’m sure we all agree with your sentiments. Glad I could make you smile through it all🙂

  29. Thanks for visiting my blog. Sorry about your baby, hope the new babies all arrive fit and healthy.

    • Thanks so much. By the looks of your blog, you would be all to accustomed to mother natures harsh realities. This story is actually a past experience of mine, when I rescued and hand raised these little black Springbok. It’s something of a “time warp” story, as one of my other followers called it. Thanks for your comments – I do still miss Thaba desperately, even though it was quite some time ago. Certain personalities just have that “something special” about them.

  30. Sad about Thaba, beautiful post and look forward to updates and pictures.
    blessings,
    Tj

  31. Soon you will be overridden with bucks!

  32. I’m so sorry you lost Thaba, I have to sweep away a tear now. I know it’s the wild life, but it’s such a hard life😦
    The bucks look wonderful with the new life in their tummy. It’s amazing how the circle of life goes on🙂

    • I’ll tell you, I had to wipe away more than a tear when it happened. It’s easier writing this now because it happened quite a while back – don’t think I could have done it then.

      New life – what a fantastic miracle.

  33. Pingback: easyblog HE DUDE!… « Easy Blog

Leave a Reply

