Can Addiction Affect Your Work?

My “Baby Boy” Sabre. His story will follow

By now, we all know that my Blogging Addiction Level has reached extraordinary levels.  This has been fueled by the intensive training program, into which I was somewhat unknowingly conscripted.  It would appear that the training is in overdrive and my Rewards/Awards for desirable behaviour are increasing.  Don’t get me wrong, I love my addiction.  The problem I am experiencing, however, is that work (that nasty 4-letter word that keeps getting in the way of pleasurable experiences), seems to be expecting me to maintain a level of responsibility.

I need assistance and, to this end, I have added a poll.  I am now reaching out to my fellow bloggers and friends, to see if there is a consensus regarding this perceived insanity encounter.

Now, on this subject, I will have to admit that – dare I mention this in polite company – WORK got in the way of my ability to keep track of my Addiction.  As such, I have only now noticed that I have, once again, been Rewarded for my Addictive Behaviour.  The wonderful Wayward Dogs (http://waywarddogs.com), who have dedicated a site to helping lost dogs find their owners, or new “forever” homes, have very kindly awarded me with the Very Inspiring Blogger Award.  I am tickled pink!

This one, however, comes with a degree of…..wait…..here it comes again…..that 4 letter word, WORK.  As I knuckle down to the inevitable thought processes required, I now list the 7 Things about myself:

  1. I LOVE animals – who’d have guessed?
  2. I LOVE my family and friends
  3. I love potatoe crisps (as you can see, slightly less than those above but still high on my priority list)
  4. I am a Leo (the kitties of the world seem to have figured that out!  Clever little munchkins)
  5. My husband is a Basket-Case (but we love him all the same)
  6. My Mother may be more so and my Dad remains responsible for my humour (but without them I’d be lost)
  7. God is good (although sometimes our priorities seem to differ.  I assume he knows what he’s doing and I’ll look back on my challenges with an “Ahh, that’s why” moment).

My time on the bloggesphere has been short and I am gratified with the acceptance of my short stint with such welcoming.  I would like to pass this Award onto the following kind people who have welcomed me with open Blogger-Arms:

Rumpy Dog – http://rumpydog.com

One Spoilt Cat – http://onespoiledcat.wordpress.com

Hey Its Jet Here – http://heyitsjethere.wordpress.com

Animal Couriers – http://animalcouriers.com

Clowies Corner – http://clowiescorner.wordpress.com

Donkey Whisperer – http://donkeywhispererfarm2010.wordpress.com

26 Comments

Filed under Awards

26 responses to “Can Addiction Affect Your Work?

  1. Well! Congratulations on your Very Inspiring Blogger Award! You may have been blogging only short-term but your goals are long-term and your mission is VERY blog-worthy and inspiring. Thank you SO MUCH for including us in your list of nominees – we do already have this award but that doesn’t mean we aren’t flattered to pieces that you thought of us. We are lovin’ your blog and glad you visit One Spoiled Cat too!! Oh yeah….our web address is http://onespoiledcat.wordpress.com – slightly different than the one you used above….. 😀 😀

    Thank you SOOOOOOOOOOO much……………..
    Kitty Hugs, Sammy (and his Mom too)

  2. Oops – sorry, will update the blog right now with the correct address – silly me. Thanks for all the kind comments.

  3. Ok, changed the link – sorry about that. Look forward to hearing all your new news

  4. Congrats on your award and thanks for sharing the love with me! As for the addiction….. I’m still in denial.

  5. I’m afraid I am passed denial. Wish I could still be in that glorious state of ignorance.

  6. Congratulations! Sounds like you need to change your work for something you love, so that it stops being a four -letter word, LOL. I’m confident it’s in the works for you! All the best, M

  7. Thanks so much, Margarita. I am also confident that it is in the works for the future. I was brought up not to use 4-letter words, so we had best hope so

  8. Congratulations to you and thank you very much!

  9. Hey Sabre, Jetty here. (My friends call me Jetty, feel free if you like!) Hi Miss Susan.

    Wowee wow, wow! You are most kind to pass this meaningful award on to us. You have exploded into the blogosphere with wonderful momentum. We already look forward to reading your posts and deeply appreciate your comments. 🙂

    Please have patience with Mom, we have another award post to write and then yours… we PROMISE we won’t forget and DO NOT TAKE YOUR KINDNESS for granted.

    Mom asked me to share that she totally gets the WORK thingie… she has 3-4 jobs depending on the time of year and she cannot believe how much that stuff interferes with the important stuff!… except for the fact that JJ and I remind her without the biscuit money… well, need I say… no biscuits???

    • Yip, there you go, that “biscuit” thingy. Got to get them in for you guys somehow. Please don’t worry about timing on the award (you really don’t have to do anything). I just wanted you to know that I enjoy reading your blog. Your Mom is such a busy little bee – we all understand

  10. Congratulations on your award!! I have to admit to being a blog-aholic. Luckily for me I have a lot of flexibility at work, it’s a good thing too because I check my blog about 20 times per day and I’m not kidding. I’ve been blogging for a year and a half now and it hasn’t subsided. If you come up with something be sure to let me know. 😀

    • Hi Jodi,

      I’m so glad to hear I am not the only one. Was beginning to worry about myself but have now decided that there is a serious business opportunity awaiting – I’ll have to look into opening a Bloggers Anonymous centre (not to fix the problem, as we all enjoy it too much, just to let us all run wild, guilt-free).

      PS – you are right, for some reason your message seem to land up in my spam box. Don’t know why and don’t know how to stop it.

  11. Congrats on your much deserved award! Your “addiction” has resulted in a fabulous blog, I definitely would not consider it a bad thing! 😉

  12. Claudine

    My husband is a Basket-Case (but we love him all the same) ….. bhwahahahahahahaha!!!!!!!! 🙂

  13. Congratulations – it is one of the only things where addiction brings benefits! Love your blog. Thank you so much for the nomination – we’re hopelessly slow in processing them (ie, doing the work!) but will be back in touch. 😀

  14. Isn’t it wonderful to have an addiction with benefits! You are so right. No hurry in processing the award – we all hate that WORK thing.

  15. Congratulations!
    And this addiction is completely normal. No need to seek help. 😉

  16. I’ll get started on that immediately

  17. Congratulations on the Very Inspiring Blogger Award!

  18. Pingback: Fortunate Friday | Hey… It's Jet Here

Leave a Reply

